Cast of the Week – The Alice in Wonderland Belly Bowl

I won’t lie. When I was first given the design for this Belly Bowl, I was a little scared. I had no idea how I was going to pull it off, or what exactly I was going to do. At the same time, I was really, REALLY, excited. Mixed emotions for sure.

The mama told me she wanted the baby’s name in a big funky lettering -red – something that will stand out. She wanted the theme to look a little like the Alice in Wonderland flowers, without the faces. How fun!

I had NO idea how I was going to lay it all out or how I would come up with a way to do a background that would fit  with it. Like most of the times when I am unsure on my direction, I just grab my pencil, and go with it. I started this bowl while on vacation. I started sketching the flowers in, and things just sort of came together – better than I thought. To get an idea of how many more flowers/filler I needed, I printed out the name in some scrap paper for a visual. Once everything was in place, I started with the background. Black, and sparkly – fun, yet something that will not take away from the detail of the flowers being put in. Slowly I started painting in all the greenery, and then finally was able to move onto the flowers. When it was time to finally place the name in the bowl, I knew that once again, I may have topped my old favorite with this one. I love the way it turned out so much!

Leave a Reply

